Vulnerability

This hangs on our loungeroom wall. A good reminder to be wholehearted.

A few months ago I came across a TED Talk by Brené Brown on the power of vulnerability. I spent a few (many) minutes trying to break down what the talk was about but was having trouble, so I’ve just copied and pasted the TED bio!

Brené Brown is a research professor at the University of Houston Graduate College of Social Work. She has spent the past ten years studying vulnerability, courage, authenticity, and shame. She spent the first five years of her decade-long study focusing on shame and empathy, and is now using that work to explore a concept that she calls Wholeheartedness. She poses the questions:

How do we learn to embrace our vulnerabilities and imperfections so that we can engage in our lives from a place of authenticity and worthiness? How do we cultivate the courage, compassion, and connection that we need to recognize that we are enough – that we are worthy of love, belonging, and joy?

I’m not a big fan of “ohmygod this [whatever it is] changed my life!!!!” but the talk REALLY resonated with me because for my whole life, I’ve felt not good enough. I feel like this all the time. All. The. Time. I’m feeling a great whack of vulnerability just telling you but that’s actually a good thing. I suppose.

The place where we can feel most ‘not good enough’ is in our relationships. I know I do. Anthony has been the rock who has held this family together for over ten years now. Yesterday he said something which straight away touched on my not good enough space. Instead of asking him “what can I do to help?” I said something completely stupid and went to bed. At 9.10pm on a Saturday night. Unheard of. Though I may have been feeling a little tired and emotional from my twice yearly dance with alcohol the night before…

Please take the time to watch this talk. It’s twenty minutes. Settle down with your iPad on the couch or in bed or wherever you feel comfortable – preferably away from noisy, pesky kids – and watch it.

Last month Brené Brown spoke at the major TED conference in Long Beach, California. I didn’t have enough space to upload it to this post but have provided a link. It gets into the nitty gritty at around 13 minutes.

http://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_listening_to_shame.html

I hope you get the chance to view both talks. I know everybody is busy, but you never know it might just “change your life”. Ahem.

This entry was posted in Vulnerability and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vulnerability

  1. Deb Pascoe says:

    Lise, you write so beautifully – you have to do something with this gift. After watching the Brene clip a while ago (thank you so much for sending it to me) I wrote: (probably sub conscioulsy plageurised from Brene) “One’s ability to connect deeply is in direct proportion to one’s willingness to be vulnerable”
    Deb xx

  2. Pingback: Belonging vs Fitting In | Jumbled thoughts from a jumbled mind

  3. Pingback: Vulnerability and blogging | Jumbled thoughts from a jumbled mind

Leave a Reply

