When many little things add up to blah

Okay, so I’m feeling a bit flat. Yesterday sucked a lot, yet nothing particularly large happened to put me into this spin, it was a whole lot of little things, probably starting from Sunday where I felt that Mother’s Day was just too much – I just don’t do hopping from one thing to the other very well whereas some people thrive on it. However I did had a lovely day, particularly the final part where I spent a few hours in front of an open fire with the Hall family.

So on Monday I blogged about my mini parental burnout moment of that morning and it hasn’t really improved from there. A job has been postponed unexpectedly, our finances are in a bit of a mess due to a couple of major indulgent purchases on my part (hello flights to Sydney for Anth and I to run the City to Surf) and I’m waiting for some clients to pay me. During a difficult transcription yesterday we lost power and I hadn’t saved my work (FARK!) Also, my laptop was dead and I blamed the kids because all it’s used for is playing Minecraft. Not to mention waking up at 4am and not getting back to sleep. Grrrr.

So just little things which added up to just feeling blah. When I feel like this, I don’t want to go out and face the world and have conversations with the other mums (who I LOVE by the way πŸ™‚ ). But of course the kids need to be picked up from school, Dan needs to go to footy training, I have to visit my PANDA mum…so onwards I go just going about my business. By last night I was feeling rather fragile and I woke in the middle of last night and cried about it. Have I mentioned how amazing Anth is? You see, he doesn’t get like this, yet he was so supportive especially given it was the middle of the night!

But in times like these it’s important to remember it’s not all bad or even just sit with the thought “okay I’m feeling bad but this feeling won’t last” without battling to overcome it. Last night I retreated to my bedroom and was lying there in the dark doing some deep breathing when Mitch came and joined me. We were having a little chat and along came Dan. The hallway light was on which cast a light right into our bedroom but when Dan came in, he tripped over one of my boots lying on the floor and did this amazingly noisy fall onto the (polished) floor. I. Could. Not. Stop. Laughing. Sorry Dan!

And just after school today, I was asked by a mum, Bec, to bring a kid back to her house as she didn’t have enough room in her car. So after the kids devoured (literally!) tonnes of food, they went outside to play and Bec and I had a cuppa and a chat. She’s just one of those people who is so genuine and lovely and I really enjoy spending time with her.

This is what the kids looked like after school – except there were 7 of them!

So, as I mentioned, I’m just sitting with this blah feeling. Work will come my way, the transcription is nearly finished, the laptop is fine and I shared a cup of tea with a friend. I just need to remember these feelings do pass.

Does anyone else have these moments/days? If so, do you feel you need to cover it up? Do you have any tips on overcoming them?

This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When many little things add up to blah

  1. Libbie says:

    Lisa it is NORMAL – and so like my world. Some people just love social mega store and seem to smile non stop – reality is what you went through. Can’t tell you how many times I have five things crush down at once – I’ve come 2nd and 3rd in every job I’ve applied for this year – down from 300 to 3 and sat thru job interviews only to get that awful “you didn’t get it sorry” call. Finances are tight and jack seems to play up more at these times. I have a friend who’s been fighting cancer for 6 years and has just been dealt more hurdles – she has a beautiful husband and young daughter – I just think of what they are going through and learn to suck it up. But i still wake and cry in the middle of the night during tough times – we all do!! Anthony is your rock – and you are the boys rock – so don’t feel bad. Love conquers everything x

    • Lisa says:

      Awww thanks Lib. I know there’s a squillion people worse off than me but it’s these everyday things that seem to get to me. The kids do seem to play up more when you’re stressed – it’d be our stress that they can feel. You’re an amazing PA so I’m sure something will come up for you soon but I hear that it’s been tough – dunno how you do it really. I suppose it’s because you have to. Jack is very lucky. xx

  2. Jill says:

    I get u totally Lisa!! And sometimes when people ask “how are u” you don’t really want to say “yeah great” with a big beaming smile when u could let out a great long list of whinges n moans about how crappy u feel that day!! Is it because we feel that everybody else is happily living their lives n to admit being pissed off n stressed is admitting failure?? For me work helps I go to work n it puts everything back in perspective and makes me realize that my life isn’t that bad after all!! But sometimes I don’t wanna get out of bed n face the world!! Tears are always gd tho gets it out of ur system xx

    • Lisa says:

      You know Jill, if you see me in passing while picking up Conor and you feel crap, then tell me because it’s not failure, it’s everyday bloody life. It can be relentless sometimes. I reckon working at a hospital would give you a reality slap any day. I need to get out more… xx

  3. Bianca says:

    I have had plenty of them! My problem is when I’m foul it takes me a long time to snap out of it. I find going for a walk and getting some fresh air makes things better. However this probably wasn’t a good option in the wee hours of the morning.

    • Lisa says:

      Couldn’t agree with you more B. I had my running group at the Tan tonight and it was great. Well not great because it is running, but fresh air is definitely a pick me up. And you know, it’s not that easy to just ‘snap out of it’. Otherwise we’d all do it!

  4. I love your honesty… you’re being real and not faking anything. Anyone who seems perfect, isn’t! Well done xo

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks Katrina, much appreciated. Definitely no faking it here…can’t even bring myself to dye the greys out of my hair πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

