Friendship, no matter what

Friendship is when people know all about you but like you anyway

I’m not really one for quotes, they’re kind of everywhere. There is one by Mary Oliver I really like that Kate James first bought to my attention “Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”  I love it because it’s a very good question!

But it’s the one highlighted above which caught my eye today. Sometimes I wonder what the fark people think when I write the stuff that I do. Some people wouldn’t dream of writing that they’ve had a crap day or their kids completely shit them or they’re anxious, upset, flat, weary, over it, depressed, struggling financially … for fear of the outcome. Would they be looked at differently, thought of differently, dumped, seen as a failure/hopeless/a not good enough mother? And you see, I’m actually one of those people who has those fears. I feel quite vulnerable when I publish a post because I worry about all of the above.

But stuff it, I write it and publish it anyway! And I hope it’s not all bad, I actually have a lovely idea for my next post.

So, for me, it comes back to the quote above – friendship is when people know all about you but like you anyway.

I have friends like that and I’m also a friend like that. Do you have friends like that?

This entry was posted in Friendship, Vulnerability and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

