Things they didn’t tell you about parenting

Once upon a time back in about 2005 I wanted to write a book about motherhood. I collected dozens and dozens of stories from women all around Australia about their expectations of motherhood, their birth stories, how it was for them now that they’d had a baby, division of housework, sex after having children…you know, all that light and easy stuff. I also spoke with some experts in the field of parenting, happiness and of course PANDA about why some women cope better than others. Eye opening stuff.

I had some great stories to tell but I never got around to writing it because, well, I’m not a writer and it all seemed too hard. I just didn’t know how to do it. I even had a title for it “You Are Not Alone” because as someone who found the experience of having her first child quite difficult, I felt very much alone with my thoughts. It was like I’d entered some secret society which is odd given squillions of women have had babies. I seriously thought I was going mad and that I was the only one who felt like this. Of course I wasn’t, but I only found that out after starting to over-share about how I felt! What I’d really love to do is go back in time to the period when I was pregnant and punch anyone who says the first 6 weeks are the hardest. I mean really? After that, it’s not that hard? Puhleez. Well, I suppose it’s not hard in comparison to, say, brain surgery – but it is relentless, energy sapping stuff. Sure, there are rewards, like when they go to bed…

Now, in 2012, there are plenty of books and plenty of bloggers sharing their experiences and this can only be a good thing for all the parents out there who feel that they’re alone and there are plenty of new parents out there who do and who wonder why they weren’t told it would be like this. I’m still bloody wondering.

A group of writers and bloggers have written their stories in a new ebook called “Things they didn’t tell you about Parenting”. There are all sorts of parenting moments covered; some I’ve nodded my head to, one that will be me soon (a mum of a Year 7 boy) and some I’ve shed a tear reading. (Yeah, I’m soft.)

All the money raised from the sale of the ebook goes to Foundation 18. Foundation 18 offers a traditional Balinese upbringing for twelve girls aged from 3 to 14 years old who do not have a living parent or whose parents have relinquished them and an education sponsorship for other children who do have parents but who are unable to afford school. It was founded by Cate Bolt who has 9 children and is suffering an incurable auto-immune disease. Yes. Some people are just fucking marvels.

So click on the pic below to order your copy. It’s only $4.99. You’ll be helping provide uniforms and an education to kids who wouldn’t otherwise have that opportunity. And you get to read some great stories over a cup of tea (me) or a wine (most people I know).

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things they didn’t tell you about parenting

  1. Not a writer, my ass. This is wonderful Thank you!

  2. Have absolutely loved reading this and am thoroughly inspired by everyone who contributed to it. Y’all are brilliant. I was single when I had my daughter and very much alone. My parents were in another country and although I had help from extended family, it was hard for any of them to really understand what it was like to find yourself sitting in the corridor outside your poxy little unit, hugging your knees and burying your face trying to drown out the sound of your baby crying inside. My daughter didn’t sleep until she was nearly 3. I thought I would lose my mind. One day I stepped outside into the corridor and across the way, there was a woman doing exactly the same thing. She was much younger than me but we saw each other through a few horrid years and our children became constant companions. I don’t know what I would have done without her. The connection that all of you make with women like us every day is real. It matters. It changes lives and I have no doubt it saves them. I can’t thank all of you enough for being part of this awesome, awesome initiative and can only hope it gets the recognition it so truly deserves.

    • Lisa says:

      Sounds awful, thank goodness you found that one person. As for the ebook and the bloggers who contributed, it’s this type of collaborative effort that reminds you that there is a village out there to help.

Leave a Reply

