Lazy, hazy, crazy dayz of summer

Yeah, whatevs

Yeah, whatevs

Everywhere I go I hear “oh I can’t wait for the school holidays, no more making lunches/homework/drop offs/pick ups/after school activities/lunches…

And I say “oh yes I know, I can’t wait either”.

Confession time: Yes I can so wait.

If you’re a previous reader of this blog, you already know I’m crapping on when I say I can’t wait til school holidays. Technically, school holidays mean all the above are correct. In reality, it’s this: Muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuum, Muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuum, Muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuum, can I have something to eat/he hit me/I hate my brother/can I have something to eat/I’m bored/can we go to someone’s house/can I have something to eat/can we get a pool/our house is so boring/can we go to *anything that requires money*/can you take us to the park to play cricket/can I have something to eat/I wish you were like other mums…

I wish I was like other mums too boys. But I’m not. So while I’m a massive fan of lack of structure, not making lunches and sleep ins, I’m not a massive fan of the fighting, noise and your company 24/7 for 6 weeks straight! Yeah I know…bad mother blah blah blah, why’d you have children blah blah blah…but I did tell you I’m not like the other mums. I get, errr, tense, when you’re at my side for very long stretches. It’s the freedom and need for harmony thing. I wish it’d fuck right off, but it just won’t. And unlike girls, boys just do not sit and craft away the hours. Frankly, I’d prefer to sit for five days watching Test cricket than do craft. Why can’t you do that boys? Cricket is fabulous. Oh don’t worry, you’ll get it one day. Sigh.

So this is a call out to all my lovely friends and, well, people I don’t know too, anyone really. If you are heading to the park, if you are trekking to the beach, if you are lucky enough to have a pool, if you want them for a sleepover, GIVE ME A CALL. My mental health depends on you. And I’ll bring cake. And I will reciprocate if you need a few hours to yourself. Easy. Though just quietly, if you’re going to GESAC, I’m not going with you.

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lazy, hazy, crazy dayz of summer

  1. love it Lisa! i am not going to GESAC but you can come here anytime, bring icy poles. we can go to the park – because i need to breathe, and i need space too!

  2. Sally M says:

    I have three girls and I hate craft. No one sits still here for craft – rather they walk around spreading it throughout the house. I can confirm that glitter glue, once dry, does not come off floorboards. Craft, smaft – it’s half an hour set up, ten minutes entertainment then an hour of clean up (and a grumpy mummy who didn’t want to do it in the first place but got cajoled into it through craft-guilt). Give me pool/beach/park any day. xx

    • Lisa B says:

      Heh! I was being a bit cheeky with the craft bit. Don’t forget to give me a call when you hit the pool/beach/park (but not gesac!) 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

