Noise and stuff

This is Anth at about 1.30am on New Year's Eve. The reflection of the fire with the full moon in the background. Creepy.

This is Anth at about 1.30am on New Year’s Eve. The reflection of the fire with the full moon in the background. Creepy.

Now, if you’ve read this blog more than once you may have picked up my sensitivity to all things noise. Imagine, if you can, an iPhone switched to silent sitting on a bench. Then think about the noise it makes when it rings (vibrates) but a gazillion times louder. From 5.30am til about 10pm on our latest camping trip to Lake Glenmaggie all I could hear was this sound: Errrrh….errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh …. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh…. errrrh….

Sob.

The sound was coming from the vans/cabins across from us. Early on in our stay I asked them if they could hear the sound and they said (wait for it) “it’s the cows down the paddock”. Oh really? No.

Nat (who I was camping with, along with her 3 kids) thought it may have been a bird and Garry (Anth’s brother) thought it was a pump for a toilet. When I asked the guys across from us again later in the week, they said it was coming from a pump from waaaay over the other side of the caravan park. Oh really? Fuck off.

Unfortunately the mystery hasn’t been solved. And unfortunately for everyone else in the Garry and Julie Hall family, they started to hear it too 🙂  Even some random guy I stopped while standing still listening for where the sound was coming from said it had been bothering him!

Then there was the seriously loud bogan music blaring from a camp site around 140 metres away through a bunch of trees and bushes. Seriously loud. New Year’s Eve loud. Except it wasn’t NYE. You know, I just don’t think having music playing so loud that you can’t hear yourself on Twitter at 10.15pm at night is appropriate. Go bush camp if you want to do that. I grabbed the torch, told the boys I was going to the toilet and tramped through the bushes and just before I got there the music stopped and I could hear something about turning the music down. And I said as nice as I could “yeah, I’ve got a couple of kids trying to get to sleep”. And in reply a delightful gentleman said “fucking whinging c***s”. Why yes sir, you may be right but you are an inconsiderate feral moron so we’re even.

Then there’s sole parenting a couple of crazy lads. Anth had to return home to work for a few days and let’s just say the boys were, ahem, highly spirited. I know, hard to believe huh. Given my sensitivity to all things noise and annoying creatures, I may have been a little het up on the odd occasion. Thing is, as Nat says, Mitch has no off button. He is on AIMG_8409LL THE TIME. At one stage I dragged him out of the air conditioned car while we were waiting for fish n chips because he just would not stop. He sat on a chair outside the fish n chip shop in Heyfield doing the royal wave to absolutely nobody. I mean, who does that? When it all boils down to it, I wouldn’t want him any other way. Mostly. In the end though, I just left it up to everyone else to tell him off. It probably looks like I’m neglecting my parental duties but it wears me out so I withdraw at times. If you see me doing it, I’m just trying to recharge.

So, we’re back at home. My feet are completely shot – filthy, cracked, sore. We have 2,567,876 loads of washing to do and another 3 and a bit weeks of school holidays remaining. But the kids had fun kneeboarding and holding on for dear life on the tubes at the lovely Lake Glenmaggie so it’s all worth it. Thanks Nat, Garry, Julie and all your kids for your company and saving my sanity. Love youse.

GOING...

GOING…

GOING...

GOING…

GONE!

GONE!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Noise and stuff

  1. Ally says:

    My advice in dealing with well spoken, considerate fellow campers who insist on sharing their ‘choice’ music selections after lights out – give them an early wake up call! Hype up the kids on red cordial (OK we don’t need the cordial for our boys) and run them past a few times and of course you will be terribly apologetic…

Leave a Reply

